Church Interior
Pastor Dotson Photo.png



Artboard 6HRBC Logo.png


"Preach the Gospel always and when necessary, use words.” is a famous quote from an anonymous source that Pastor Timothy L. Dotson uses as the philosophy of his life."

On the first Sunday of October in 2016, Reverend Timothy L. Dotson became the fourth Pastor of the historic Haven of Rest Missionary Baptist Church of Chicago Illinois. Pastor Dotson wears a plethora of titles which include Husband, Pastor, Father, Grandfather, Scholar, Preacher, Teacher, and Friend. He is a humble homiletician of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and a visionary with a passion for outreach ministry. His clarion call to the Gospel Ministry crosses ecumenical boundaries. Reverend Dotson is the lineage of a long line of gospel preachers. 


He is a native Chicagoan and an alumnus of Chicago Vocational Career Academy. Reverend Dotson has earned both a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science Degree from Calumet College of Saint Joseph. He attained his formal theological education from the McCormick Theological Seminary, where he was conferred the Master of Arts Degree in Ministry with an emphasis in Pastoral Care. Reverend Dotson is a Candidate for the Doctor of Ministry Degree at the Chicago Theological Seminary, with a cognate discipline in Homiletics. He was the recipient of the 2021 G. Campbell Morgan Award for Excellence in Preaching at the Chicago Theological Seminary. Reverend Dotson is an Associate Member of the Academy of Homiletics. He not only serves his local church, but he also serves the Parent Body of the Bethlehem Baptist District Association as its Parliamentarian.

​Reverend Dotson is a life member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. He has always been an advocate for social justice and change; with a willingness to speak out for those who have no voice. Reverend Dotson previously taught a  course in social justice at Calumet College of Saint Joseph and, he currently serves as a mentor to seminary students in partnership with the McCormick Theological Seminary’s experiential learning program.

Pastor Dotson served his country as a United States Marine and retired from the Chicago Police Department after over twenty years of faithful service in policing. He is ​the devoted husband of over 35 years to the lovely Mrs. Jenise Dotson. He is the father of Timothy Jr., Tiffany and Troy, and the grandfather of Zechariah, Zaiden, Zander, and Zaire. He works tirelessly to serve both God and His people. Pastor Timothy L. Dotson does his best to, “Preach the Gospel always, and when necessary, he uses words.”

For general information or to book Reverend Timothy Dotson, please contact office secretary, Mrs. Tabitha Edwards by phone or email. 



Artboard 3HRBC Logo.png



Rev. Margaret Brim, MDIV

Associate Minister

Chaplain Ministry

Rev. James Brown

Associate Minister

Congregational Care

Mrs. Annette Dewberry
Church Clerk

Elder Francis Lewis

Associate Minister

Missions Department

Min. Nora Truss
Associate Minister
Congregational Care

Mrs. Mary McBride
Church Receptionist

Mrs. Tabitha Edwards
Pastor's Executive Assistant

Sis. Brenda Sharpe

Director of Student Ministries

Sis. Judy Hines

Announcer's Guild, Director

Rev. Mulbe Dillard, MA

Associate Minister

Community Development

Sis. Janice Trice

Minister of Music

Mr. Salvador Ramirez
Grounds Engineer

Sis. Courtney Jackson

Media Director

Sis. Karen Cage

Interim Choir President

Rev. Wille Thomaston
Associate Minister
Congregational Care

Mr. George Adams


Mr. Gerome Summers
Director of Security


Artboard 3HRBC Logo.png

Christian Education Dean

Sis. Bertha Bonner

Deacon Board, Chairman
Deacon Robert Gipson

Deaconess, President

Sister Sarah Duncan​

Environmental Ministry, President

Sister Yolanda Richmond

Evangelism Ministry, President

Deaconess Valerie Jackson-Rodgers


Food Pantry, Director

Deaconess Sarah Duncan

Greeter's Ministry, President

Deaconess Linda Sanders

Levite Ministry, President

Sister Regina Gates

Men's Department, President
Deacon Robert Gipson 

Minister's Alliance, Director
Rev. Margaret Brimm  

Missionary Department, President
Msn. Alberta Plunkett 

Mothers Board, President

Mother Edna Butler-Rose

Nurses Board, President

Sister Dorothy Davis

Praise Dance Coordinator
​Sis. Tiffany Dotson-Cage

Repast Coordinator
Sis. Cassandra Davis Reed

Shepherd's Care, President

Reverend Mulbe Dillard

Student Ministries, Director

Sister Brenda Sharpe

Sunday Sch., Superintendent

Sister Creolar Hoover

Traffic Ministry
Bro. Mark Dewberry


Trustee Board, President
Sister Yolanda Richmond

Usher Board, President

Sister Adlene Stewart

Women's Auxiliary, President

Sister Sharon May


Women's Department, President
First Lady Jenise Dotson

Women’s Ministry, Director
Sister Annette Dewberry